RPGDXThe center of Indie-RPG gaming
Not logged in. [log in] [register]
 
 
Post new topic Reply to topic Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next 
View previous topic - View next topic  
Author Message
RedSlash
Mage


Joined: 12 May 2005
Posts: 331

PostPosted: Mon Nov 19, 2007 1:20 am    Post subject: [quote]

On DevX's demo, I get this when running game through the start menu programs list:
Code:
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "game.py", line 576, in <module>
  File "F:\_novrpg_for_windows\IceQuest\devxcode\devxcodecommon.py", line 22, in devxcodemain
  File "game.py", line 348, in __init__
  File "F:\_novrpg_for_windows\IceQuest\devxcode\devxcodeclass_def.py", line 8, in __init__
  File "F:\_novrpg_for_windows\IceQuest\devxcode\devxcodeclass_def.py", line 19, in InitializeGame
  File "F:\_novrpg_for_windows\IceQuest\devxcode\devxcodefontengine.py", line 22, in LoadFont
pygame.error: Couldn't open font.bmp

It works if I go to the directory and just double click the exe.
Back to top  
DeveloperX
202192397


Joined: 04 May 2003
Posts: 1626
Location: Decatur, IL, USA

PostPosted: Mon Nov 19, 2007 2:05 am    Post subject: [quote]

RedSlash: I think thats due to the working directory of the start-menu shortcut.
right-click the shortcut in the startmenu, go to properties, and set the working directory to the path that you installed to.
That should fix that.

I haven't figured out how to make that automatically set in my Inno Setup script yet.
_________________
Principal Software Architect
Rambling Indie Games, LLC

See my professional portfolio
Back to top  
Terry
Spectral Form


Joined: 16 Jun 2002
Posts: 798
Location: Dublin, Ireland

PostPosted: Mon Nov 19, 2007 2:16 am    Post subject: [quote]

As promised, here's my screenshot:



Eh, needs a bit of work. Actually, feck that - a LOT of work :) I'm quite glad to have the extension.
_________________
http://www.distractionware.com
Back to top  
RedSlash
Mage


Joined: 12 May 2005
Posts: 331

PostPosted: Mon Nov 19, 2007 2:18 am    Post subject: [quote]

Quote:
I haven't figured out how to make that automatically set in my Inno Setup script yet.


I think its easier to handle that from within the game. What some games do is to write the install path as a registry entry (which is done by the setup) and then retrieve the pathname from the registry in the game to resolve filename paths.

Another way is to determine the pathname to the exe in the game and change directory to the path of the exe. I think this way is easiest but is less portable.

Terry: looks great! can't wait for the release.
Back to top  
DeveloperX
202192397


Joined: 04 May 2003
Posts: 1626
Location: Decatur, IL, USA

PostPosted: Mon Nov 19, 2007 4:40 am    Post subject: [quote]

RedSlash wrote:

I think its easier to handle that from within the game. What some games do is to write the install path as a registry entry (which is done by the setup) and then retrieve the pathname from the registry in the game to resolve filename paths.

Another way is to determine the pathname to the exe in the game and change directory to the path of the exe. I think this way is easiest but is less portable.


I found what I needed to set in Inno Setup; should not be a problem now.
But I had a friend playtest..and there are some bad bugs in the game..so I'm currently debugging/rewriting large sections of code; I'll rlease another demo when I get things sorted out.
#1 issue was manually typing the level files...I'm making an editor right now, cause typing in 90+ rooms in a text editor is a bitch.
_________________
Principal Software Architect
Rambling Indie Games, LLC

See my professional portfolio
Back to top  
Mattias Gustavsson
Mage


Joined: 10 Nov 2007
Posts: 457
Location: Royal Leamington Spa, UK

PostPosted: Mon Nov 19, 2007 8:44 am    Post subject: [quote]

I've fixed a few small bugs and technical issues, so the game should now behave a little nicer :-)
http://www.colossusentertainment.com/forumref/kassandra_1_2.zip

And here's a couple of screenshots



I didn't have time to put in some of the things I wanted. I had plans to include a Troll as well, but it didn't complete the rendering in time... I might add it over the next couple of days, seeing as there is the extension :-)

All in all, I think I was a bit too ambitious, especially with the graphics, which took me a lot of time to create...

But anyway, it was a really nice weekend :D
_________________
www.mattiasgustavsson.com - My blog
www.rivtind.com - My Fantasy world and isometric RPG engine
www.pixieuniversity.com - Software 2D Game Engine


Last edited by Mattias Gustavsson on Thu Nov 22, 2007 8:44 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top  
Mattias Gustavsson
Mage


Joined: 10 Nov 2007
Posts: 457
Location: Royal Leamington Spa, UK

PostPosted: Mon Nov 19, 2007 9:22 am    Post subject: [quote]

oh, and here's the source code as well, should anyone be interested:

http://www.colossusentertainment.com/forumref/kassandra_source_1_2.zip

But be warned, it's rather messy... There was a bit of time pressure.. :P
_________________
www.mattiasgustavsson.com - My blog
www.rivtind.com - My Fantasy world and isometric RPG engine
www.pixieuniversity.com - Software 2D Game Engine


Last edited by Mattias Gustavsson on Thu Nov 22, 2007 9:01 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top  
DeveloperX
202192397


Joined: 04 May 2003
Posts: 1626
Location: Decatur, IL, USA

PostPosted: Mon Nov 19, 2007 10:47 am    Post subject: [quote]

Mattias Gustavsson wrote:
oh, and here's the source code as well, should anyone be interested:

http://www.colossusentertainment.com/forumref/kassandra_source_1_1.zip

But be warned, it's rather messy... There was a bit of time pressure.. :P


O_o ...speechless...or not..

I must say..the code will take me months to understand...wow we have such different coding styles..

well you certainly impressed me with your entry. dunno what others think..but..congrats man, that was one nicely done demo.
_________________
Principal Software Architect
Rambling Indie Games, LLC

See my professional portfolio
Back to top  
BadMrBox
Bringer of Apocalypse


Joined: 26 Jun 2002
Posts: 1021
Location: Dark Forest's of Sweden

PostPosted: Mon Nov 19, 2007 12:41 pm    Post subject: [quote]

It looks nice Mattias :P. I like the dialogue between Kassandra and that Conan clone. Thought, I have some slight problem's making Kassandra go where I click at some times.
_________________
Back to top  
Mattias Gustavsson
Mage


Joined: 10 Nov 2007
Posts: 457
Location: Royal Leamington Spa, UK

PostPosted: Mon Nov 19, 2007 1:00 pm    Post subject: [quote]

yeah, the pathfinding could be a bit better, but I didn't have time to weak the heuristics and the walk cells...

btw, if you specify -pathdebug as a command line parameter for the exe, you can see the a-star searching for the path :-)
_________________
www.mattiasgustavsson.com - My blog
www.rivtind.com - My Fantasy world and isometric RPG engine
www.pixieuniversity.com - Software 2D Game Engine
Back to top  
DeveloperX
202192397


Joined: 04 May 2003
Posts: 1626
Location: Decatur, IL, USA

PostPosted: Mon Nov 19, 2007 3:06 pm    Post subject: [quote]

Okay. I admit defeat.

Everything that I tried to add to the 'game' ended up not working out...after rewriting the engine over 3 times, I've finally just gone and said to hell with it.

I'm releasing the sources if someone wants to play with it.

Its not GPLd; and not Public Domain, and not closed-source..consider it an educational contribution..hehe.

Read the READMEFIRST.TXT file that is in the .zip file.

Download Ice Quest Source (uses Python and Pygame) .zip ~2MB
_________________
Principal Software Architect
Rambling Indie Games, LLC

See my professional portfolio
Back to top  
Verious
Mage


Joined: 06 Jan 2004
Posts: 409
Location: Online

PostPosted: Mon Nov 19, 2007 10:12 pm    Post subject: [quote]

Terry, you may want to add a post to the frontpage that says the competition was extended.
Back to top  
Terry
Spectral Form


Joined: 16 Jun 2002
Posts: 798
Location: Dublin, Ireland

PostPosted: Mon Nov 19, 2007 10:15 pm    Post subject: [quote]

Ah, will do.
_________________
http://www.distractionware.com
Back to top  
Terry
Spectral Form


Joined: 16 Jun 2002
Posts: 798
Location: Dublin, Ireland

PostPosted: Mon Nov 19, 2007 11:59 pm    Post subject: [quote]

Time for another screenshot!



Didn't have a lot of spare time today, so I haven't added all that much :(
_________________
http://www.distractionware.com
Back to top  
RedSlash
Mage


Joined: 12 May 2005
Posts: 331

PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2007 2:29 am    Post subject: [quote]

My latest bug report for Mattias: Game crashes for me after I click start in v1.1. Fortunately, this doesn't happen with v1.0. Other than that, the game was very nice, but too bad you didn't get to add a battle system in yet.
Back to top  
Post new topic Reply to topic Page 3 of 7 All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next 



Display posts from previous:   
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum