RPGDXThe center of Indie-RPG gaming
Not logged in. [log in] [register]
 
Oblivion switches to UGL +screens
 
Post new topic Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2  Next 
View previous topic - View next topic  
Author Message
syn9
Wandering Minstrel


Joined: 31 Aug 2002
Posts: 120
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu Jan 30, 2003 12:46 am    Post subject: Oblivion switches to UGL +screens [quote]




before, we were using futurelib with 3d rendered backgrounds


think... 3d characters on 3d background with chrono trigger style fighting...

ive finished 2 maps, and the main player model, now working on a walking animation demo
_________________
http://www.thehideoutgames.com
http://syn9.thehideoutgames.com
Back to top  
Ninkazu
Demon Hunter


Joined: 08 Aug 2002
Posts: 945
Location: Location:

PostPosted: Thu Jan 30, 2003 2:31 am    Post subject: [quote]

How the heck do you do all that 3D stuff? How much calculus and trig is needed for that? Damn, I'm never going to understand this shit...
Back to top  
syn9
Wandering Minstrel


Joined: 31 Aug 2002
Posts: 120
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu Jan 30, 2003 2:39 am    Post subject: [quote]

actually, i wrote a tutorial on it a while back, i'll post that here once i dig it up
_________________
http://www.thehideoutgames.com
http://syn9.thehideoutgames.com
Back to top  
Barok
Stephen Hawking


Joined: 26 Nov 2002
Posts: 248
Location: Bushland of Canada

PostPosted: Thu Jan 30, 2003 3:47 am    Post subject: [quote]

that's incredibly impressive for qb. someday, when i get a higher math education, i'll try that stuff.
_________________
Adosorken: I always liked slutty 10th graders...
Rhiannon: *Slap!*
Back to top  
syn9
Wandering Minstrel


Joined: 31 Aug 2002
Posts: 120
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu Jan 30, 2003 7:36 am    Post subject: [quote]

new screens::::


this is right at about 600 textured polies with player model





the player model


_________________
http://www.thehideoutgames.com
http://syn9.thehideoutgames.com
Back to top  
Ninkazu
Demon Hunter


Joined: 08 Aug 2002
Posts: 945
Location: Location:

PostPosted: Thu Jan 30, 2003 12:18 pm    Post subject: [quote]

Jeez, that's so freaking cool! Do you have to use ems and xms memory for this program? It looks quite bulky on the memory side...
Back to top  
Barok
Stephen Hawking


Joined: 26 Nov 2002
Posts: 248
Location: Bushland of Canada

PostPosted: Thu Jan 30, 2003 6:25 pm    Post subject: [quote]

yeah, i didn't even know that's possible with qb, with all the memory limitations, and slowdown and all.

the graphics remind me of the early twisted metals. you know, the backgrounds. they're always hollow. of course, it makes it seem pretty cool. your games going to be one of a kind, i'll tell you that.
_________________
Adosorken: I always liked slutty 10th graders...
Rhiannon: *Slap!*
Back to top  
Modanung
Mage


Joined: 20 Jun 2002
Posts: 317
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Jan 30, 2003 10:42 pm    Post subject: [quote]

That looks very good indeed! In QB... Wow!
But, 9 fps? Are you planning to improve that or not?
When there are also enemies, the fps must be even lower.
Back to top  
Barok
Stephen Hawking


Joined: 26 Nov 2002
Posts: 248
Location: Bushland of Canada

PostPosted: Thu Jan 30, 2003 11:27 pm    Post subject: [quote]

i never took a look at the fps... that's what i was afraid of in the first place. it being incredibly slow. maybe try just redrawing the places where you move, unless the camera moves too, unless you already do that?

by the way, could someone post the code to show the fps? i tried that, but i kept on getting several thousand fps. i think that's not right :P
_________________
Adosorken: I always liked slutty 10th graders...
Rhiannon: *Slap!*
Back to top  
Ninkazu
Demon Hunter


Joined: 08 Aug 2002
Posts: 945
Location: Location:

PostPosted: Thu Jan 30, 2003 11:34 pm    Post subject: [quote]

before the main loop, have:
Code:

t# = TIMER

at the end of the main loop of the program, have:
Code:

frames = frames + 1 'Been through the loop once again
IF TIMER - t# > 1 THEN 'Has one second passed yet?
  fps = frames 'make the fps variable equal to the number of frames that have passed in a second
  t# = TIMER 'reset the time variable to right now
  frames = 0 'reset the number of frames per second
END IF
Back to top  
syn9 (not logged in)
Guest





PostPosted: Fri Jan 31, 2003 12:05 am    Post subject: [quote]

yea, the fps are that low, but thats 622 textured polies all z-sorted and rotated per frame, in a room with 3x the normal size... my other demo room gets 24fps with character and zsorting and rotation every frame. ingame the backgrounds will only be calculated once, and character z-sorting will be precalculated for im thinking 20 or 45 degree increments, so that should increase frames substantually. enemy models would only calculated zsorting in fighting animations based on their angle. i'll prolly not have the camera move except when you move to a far part away from it so that you can get a better view, like, have it move from the doorway next to the ledge to the upper platform when you go up the stairs
Back to top  
Barok
Stephen Hawking


Joined: 26 Nov 2002
Posts: 248
Location: Bushland of Canada

PostPosted: Fri Jan 31, 2003 3:47 am    Post subject: [quote]

thanks Ninkazu. i'll test it soon enough.
_________________
Adosorken: I always liked slutty 10th graders...
Rhiannon: *Slap!*
Back to top  
Barok
Stephen Hawking


Joined: 26 Nov 2002
Posts: 248
Location: Bushland of Canada

PostPosted: Fri Jan 31, 2003 6:28 pm    Post subject: [quote]

hmmm... i'm very puzzled now. ninkazu, i installed the counter, but what did i get? nothing. i put in
[code]print frames[/code]

all over the place, but first, it put over 30'000, then when i put it outside of the IF loop, it displayed everything too fast for me to read. (doesn't matter, i could tell that it's too high to be real anyways... the engine is a SoC type, in case you want to know.
_________________
Adosorken: I always liked slutty 10th graders...
Rhiannon: *Slap!*
Back to top  
syn 9
Guest





PostPosted: Fri Jan 31, 2003 11:08 pm    Post subject: [quote]

the speed is still lacking considerably, but its running 3x the polies that i started out with for the same fps, so its getting there...


this shot shows the first scene of the game

Back to top  
syn 9
Guest





PostPosted: Sat Feb 01, 2003 3:07 am    Post subject: [quote]

first fight scene:::

the enemy


the fight
Back to top  
Post new topic Reply to topic Page 1 of 2 All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next 



Display posts from previous:   
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum