RPGDXThe center of Indie-RPG gaming
Not logged in. [log in] [register]
 
Serious contemplation concerning Unmei Densetsu
 
Post new topic Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next 
View previous topic - View next topic  
Author Message
Tenshi
Everyone's Peachy Lil' Bitch


Joined: 31 May 2002
Posts: 386
Location: Newport News

PostPosted: Tue Jun 10, 2003 11:07 pm    Post subject: Serious contemplation concerning Unmei Densetsu [quote]

- Sitting in Java class today (not paying attention, 'cause I know most of it already), I got to thinking about problems with my current QB executables, and with people being able to play the game. With the two separate executables there is a reasonable chance that even if the program works, when switching back and forth between the two executables merits the possibility of data corruption or especially DS4QB++.EXE which fatally crashes the program.

- So I'm seriously thinking of porting what I have over to C++ or Java. The reason I resisted previous suggestions to port Unmei Densetsu over to one of these languages was because of a hubris I have realized should not override the purpose of creating a game -- for entertainment. I felt that I had to create a game in QB because so few completed RPGs exist in QB. I felt I had something to prove, and if I were to continue thinking that then by the time it is complete, so few people will be able to play it as it was written that it will be a pointless venture and the 7 years I have spent working on it will be rather much all for naught. I am quite proficient in coding in either of these languages, but I do not have any knowledge yet of graphical programming in either of these languages. I estimate that once I am sure of keyboard (or mouse) interfaces, that I can generate the necessary code for the project within a couple weeks, while also expanding and compacting on codes by use of objects.

- Porting of graphics would be no issue.. simply a screen grab of anything I need to keep... not that I have much graphics at all to work with.

- I still have some doubts about whether I should or not, but with the program somewhat prone to crashing because of executable switches, and using only one small executable impossible because it needs to run within conventional memory (now, if someone can tell me how to make a DOS executable run in the high memory area so that I can keep the conventional memory area only for the memory that QB needs, then I can return the program to one EXE, then yeah, I'm all ears), I fear that the game won't be as enjoyable for a majority of players.

- There're advantages to the conversion... I can use a true-color mode and use indexed sprites, while also allowing me to play with Transparency... that'd be pretty neat. I will keep the size of the game small, either 320x240 or 640x480, the latter of which would mean that I would need to redo the ... 1 and a half map sprites I have... and the use of memory would mean I wouldn't have to fiddle with XMS explicitly.

- Please, your suggestions and support are very well needed and appreciated.

( this topic has been posted across a couple of boards, including my own, at http://angel-boards.tanime.net/cID=main&boardID=udfc )

- Thank you.
_________________
- Jaeda
Back to top  
mandrake*rpgdx
Guest





PostPosted: Tue Jun 10, 2003 11:18 pm    Post subject: [quote]

I say use C++. Java can be a pain, and people will have to dload the latest java runtime lib (since most windows users use the depricated version that comes with Iexpplorer...), wich is a hefty dload.

Also- using C/C++ libs (like ClanLib, Allegro or DirectX), using graphics is insanely simple. I would say go with Allegro and for music, use either AllegMP3, JGMOD, or DUMB, since MOD music rocks.
Back to top  
Tenshi
Everyone's Peachy Lil' Bitch


Joined: 31 May 2002
Posts: 386
Location: Newport News

PostPosted: Wed Jun 11, 2003 1:50 am    Post subject: [quote]

- In preparation for future projects, I am going to use OpenGL. What I'm having a problem with right now is keeping things simple. Playing around with objects means I can do a lot more with my map engine, and it is going to definitely cut down on what my scripting engine needed. Also, using inheritance will save me the 70 or more lines of code that I had to use for such things as HP reduction and item use.

- I'm still teetering on indecisiveness right now...
_________________
- Jaeda
Back to top  
akOOma
Wandering Minstrel


Joined: 20 Jun 2002
Posts: 113
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Jun 11, 2003 12:18 pm    Post subject: [quote]

I understand you...I'm coding a RPG in QB, too, and sometimes it's a pain in the ass...but it's your thing.... DON'T USE JAVA...C/C++ or nothing else...
_________________
Keep on codin'
-----------------

-----------------
Just another post to increase my rank...
Back to top  
Tenshi
Everyone's Peachy Lil' Bitch


Joined: 31 May 2002
Posts: 386
Location: Newport News

PostPosted: Wed Jun 11, 2003 6:59 pm    Post subject: [quote]

- I will use Java for any applications I need, since whipping up an effective application is hella-easy. Since I'm going to need new editors because the original data is not going to suffice. =(
_________________
- Jaeda
Back to top  
ThousandKnives
Wandering Minstrel


Joined: 17 May 2003
Posts: 147
Location: Boston

PostPosted: Wed Jun 11, 2003 7:45 pm    Post subject: [quote]

Quote:
either 320x240 or 640x480, the latter of which would mean that I would need to redo the ... 1 and a half map sprites I have...

I'm not quite sure I understand why (you seem to suggest) you won't have to additionally redo all those beautiful battle graphics you've done if you do a res-swap. Is there something I'm missing?

Also, I admittedly don't know ANYTHING about QB, but I don't understand the principle of having more than one excutable for a single program.

Why don't you just condense them into one executable? (Is there some huge QB limitation that I don't know about?)
Back to top  
Mandrake
elementry school minded asshole


Joined: 28 May 2002
Posts: 1341
Location: GNARR!

PostPosted: Wed Jun 11, 2003 7:48 pm    Post subject: [quote]

Quote:

Also, I admittedly don't know ANYTHING about QB, but I don't understand the principle of having more than one excutable for a single program.

Why don't you just condense them into one executable? (Is there some huge QB limitation that I don't know about?)


same ones as DOS (without using a memory extender). It makes sense when you think about it. Go ahead....think about it :)
_________________
"Well, last time I flicked on a lighter, I'm pretty sure I didn't create a black hole."-
Xmark

http://pauljessup.com
Back to top  
ThousandKnives
Wandering Minstrel


Joined: 17 May 2003
Posts: 147
Location: Boston

PostPosted: Wed Jun 11, 2003 8:01 pm    Post subject: [quote]

Quote:
Go ahead....think about it :)

hehe

Umm OK, I thought about.

I moved away from DOS programming pretty early on (I only started programming 5 years ago) so I never really got into trying THAT hard to get more memory. Although I certainly remember being stumped in ModeX as to how exactly to get enough memory so that my screen refresh wasnt VISIBLE... I can definately see how using multiple executables could work.

I still can't quite picture how you program for it though.

Fair enough.
Back to top  
DrunkenCoder
Demon Hunter


Joined: 29 May 2002
Posts: 559

PostPosted: Wed Jun 11, 2003 8:51 pm    Post subject: [quote]

ThousandKnives wrote:
Quote:
Go ahead....think about it :)

I still can't quite picture how you program for it though.

think temporary file...
_________________
If there's life after death there is no death, if there's no death we never live. | ENTP
Back to top  
mandrake*rpgdx
Guest





PostPosted: Wed Jun 11, 2003 8:54 pm    Post subject: [quote]

one way fo doing it would be to create a datafile that would store all teh info you need to pass to the other executable, or to pass it via a commandline. You wuld then shell out the other executable, and viola. There is a way in DOS where you can store varaibles in the actual OS, and you can do that as well, or you can actually grab the varaibble data from another exe using some sneaky DOS ASM stuff.
Back to top  
Tenshi
Everyone's Peachy Lil' Bitch


Joined: 31 May 2002
Posts: 386
Location: Newport News

PostPosted: Thu Jun 12, 2003 12:54 am    Post subject: [quote]

- I used a large swap file between the two programs to pass global data betwixt the two. THe reason I couldn't run it as a single executable is because I was only able to function within conventional memory, which as you may or may not know, is 640 KB ("640KB ought to be enough for anybody" - Bill Gates 19(84/94)?). The executable is about 450KB or larger. I at least need an offscreen buffer, an additional 64KB. Then comes the drove of custom datatypes (as I may or may not have mentioned, in size 8 Courier font, my primary include file was 14 pages long, no comments, no extrenuous line breaks). Some may say "Well, store them in temp files". What that means is extra code written to extract and store these variables to file every time they are needed. In the end, it's about even --- I lose. Perhaps there was a fundamental flaw in how I wrote the program, either way, something has to be done, or I will have wasted the past 8 years of my life.
_________________
- Jaeda
Back to top  
Jihgfed Pumpkinhead
Stephen Hawking


Joined: 21 Jan 2003
Posts: 259
Location: Toronto, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Jun 12, 2003 4:30 am    Post subject: Switch Languages [quote]

Tenshi wrote:
... I will have wasted the past 8 years of my life.
God, I hate sounding trite, but the truth is it's only a waste unless if you never enjoyed it and never learnt anything from it.

I spent my first couple of years programming in a language called Turing. It, like QBasic, was good for what it was: a teaching language. I hemmed and hawed about switching to C++, and at the time I felt it was a difficult choice (as I'd be giving up so much I had worked on, and so much I had learnt), but I am so, so, so glad I did. In the end, I didn't really lose anything: everything I had completed in the old language I still had, and those things I didn't complete were never going to be completed anyway, not with the technical constraints under which I was working.

Simply, if the language isn't meeting your minimum requirements, you have to switch, or change your minimum requirements. Your minimum requirement seems to be that the language can stably support large projects. I don't think that discarding stability is a viable option, so your choices seem to be either to scale back your project or to switch languages. Which, really, would be the greater waste of all the work you've put into it?

Anyway, I guess that's all besides the point, since it looks like you've pretty much decided to switch and are just having a few post-decision doubts.

The solutions to programming problems are largely theoretical and should not change too much depending on the language with which you choose to implement them. Those problems that are language specific have almost certainly been already discovered and addressed by others, so it shouldn't be too hard to solve them, too. The point is that I don't think you're losing as much as you say you are. Particularly as you're already familiar with whatever language you end up using (enough, at least, not to pay attention in class (tsk)), all the hard-stuff, the project-killing stuff, should already be behind you, I think.

Well, good luck whatever you choose.
Back to top  
Adam
Mage


Joined: 30 Dec 2002
Posts: 416
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Thu Jun 12, 2003 7:30 am    Post subject: [quote]

A switch up to Visual Basic may be easier than to switch to C/C++ beacuse the code would almost be able to be ported straight... Almost.

But then you've got to have the bling-bling to buy visual studio.
_________________
https://numbatlogic.com
Back to top  
Tenshi
Everyone's Peachy Lil' Bitch


Joined: 31 May 2002
Posts: 386
Location: Newport News

PostPosted: Thu Jun 12, 2003 2:16 pm    Post subject: [quote]

- Actually, we have Visual Studio. =T But I like C++. The problem with trying to port to Visual Basic is that a lot of the added code was because of memory limitations.. so I have to have a lot of calls to the XMS handlers to get and put stuff, which I wouldn't need in VB, and several other things. In the end, I'm more comfortable using C++, though VB can't be too bad, I taught my dad QB and he went and learned VB in a short time. Oh well.. since I have future projects I wish to begin (ANgel Matrix PLus and Federation Crystal Online), might as well get my feet wet with OpenGL.

- And I guess that was wrong to say "Wasted". I have learned many fundamental things, such as how to work minimalistically and direct solutions to problems. It also made my grasp of future languages that much easier.
_________________
- Jaeda
Back to top  
Ninkazu
Demon Hunter


Joined: 08 Aug 2002
Posts: 945
Location: Location:

PostPosted: Thu Jun 12, 2003 2:41 pm    Post subject: [quote]

My dad wanted me to teach him C++ when I first showed interest in learning it. When I finally learned it and offered to teach him, he didn't want to learn.

My dad doesn't really like to do much with me other than something that involves the rest of the family (which ends up not interacting with me)

But apart from my childhood trauma, I say C++ is teh gud.
Back to top  
Post new topic Reply to topic Page 1 of 3 All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next 



Display posts from previous:   
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum