RPGDXThe center of Indie-RPG gaming
Not logged in. [log in] [register]
 
One last problem (non-artist needs some advice)
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  
View previous topic - View next topic  
Author Message
Gardon
Scholar


Joined: 05 Feb 2006
Posts: 157

PostPosted: Thu Dec 20, 2007 9:12 pm    Post subject: One last problem (non-artist needs some advice) [quote]

I'm a c++/directX programmer and need to start making some models and levels for my world. I've tried a few things (Pnp Terrain Creator for heightmaps, 3D world studio for buildings, and milkshape for character/weapon models), but it sucks because they can't all tie together. Buildings made in 3D World Studio have to be scaled down to fit onto the terrain with Pnp TerrainCreator, and look totally wrong. Characters made in milkshape can't be imported into 3D World Studio because everything must be made internally by 3DWS (it doesn't allow imports), and Milkshape can model things but doesn't have terrain features.

As you can tell I'm in a bind. I'm curious as to how a level is made, along with models and characters with that level. How do these artists do it? I need to stop programming for a bit and do some art stuff so I keep my focus, and would like to work on a level. But how on earth can I do this?

Any tutorials/advice/links would be TREMENDOUSLY helpful.

Thank you for your time.

-Gardon
Back to top  
DeveloperX
202192397


Joined: 04 May 2003
Posts: 1626
Location: Decatur, IL, USA

PostPosted: Thu Dec 20, 2007 11:00 pm    Post subject: [quote]

Maya
3dsmax
wings3d
blender

all of the above can create all the assets you need.

I use wings3d for all my stuff these days.and its free!
_________________
Principal Software Architect
Rambling Indie Games, LLC

See my professional portfolio
Back to top  
RampantCoyote
Demon Hunter


Joined: 16 May 2006
Posts: 546
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah

PostPosted: Thu Dec 20, 2007 11:09 pm    Post subject: [quote]

I understand Wings3D doesn't do animation, though.

I'm a Blender fan these days --- I mainly use Milkshape to help export file formats to ones Blender can use.
_________________
Tales of the Rampant Coyote - Old-School Game Developer talks Indie Games, RPGs, and the Games Biz
Back to top  
Gardon
Scholar


Joined: 05 Feb 2006
Posts: 157

PostPosted: Thu Dec 20, 2007 11:25 pm    Post subject: [quote]

What about heightmap exports vs. .x files? Can Wings3D export terrain as a heightmap, while still letting me drag and drop models onto it?
Back to top  
RedSlash
Mage


Joined: 12 May 2005
Posts: 331

PostPosted: Fri Dec 21, 2007 1:01 am    Post subject: [quote]

I use Blender. Blender has a steep learning curve, though.
Back to top  
Hajo
Demon Hunter


Joined: 30 Sep 2003
Posts: 779
Location: Between chair and keyboard.

PostPosted: Fri Dec 21, 2007 8:59 am    Post subject: [quote]

Blender seems to be the best free program out there. But be prepared to read a lot of tutorials and spend some weeks on practising. At least some days.
Back to top  
Verious
Mage


Joined: 06 Jan 2004
Posts: 409
Location: Online

PostPosted: Fri Dec 21, 2007 1:21 pm    Post subject: [quote]

I've always been a fan of Autocad and 3D Studio Max. Creating non-organic objects in Autocad is very fast because of the "command line" interface and precise entry of dimensions.
Back to top  
RampantCoyote
Demon Hunter


Joined: 16 May 2006
Posts: 546
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah

PostPosted: Fri Dec 21, 2007 3:57 pm    Post subject: [quote]

The problem there is price. New copy of 3DS Max is $3500, and AutoCad is $4k.

Newest version of Blender is $0.

And while there's no doubt the latest versions of 3DS Max, Lightwave, and Maya are a bit more feature-rich than Blender, for indie game development you won't be taking advantage of more than a fraction of Blender's features in the first place.
_________________
Tales of the Rampant Coyote - Old-School Game Developer talks Indie Games, RPGs, and the Games Biz
Back to top  
DeveloperX
202192397


Joined: 04 May 2003
Posts: 1626
Location: Decatur, IL, USA

PostPosted: Fri Dec 21, 2007 11:48 pm    Post subject: [quote]

Gardon wrote:
What about heightmap exports vs. .x files? Can Wings3D export terrain as a heightmap, while still letting me drag and drop models onto it?


My terrain is done in code, using a bitmap image drawn in the gimp.

You could use terragen to create your terrain heightmaps though I used to use it a long time ago.

You don't want to drag/drop models in a 3d program (unless you write a game environment editor yourself)

Decide on a unit-scale for your game world, and model your models to that scale. You can always use code to adjust the scale if its off a bit.

One thing you could do is use a 3d modeler to get the scale and position data and write an exporter for that program to export the data you need to build your game levels.

I toyed with anim8or 's scripting ability for that purpose.
Its not too hard to get the data from the program, and if you name your mesh objects well, its easy to find in an an8 file, cause they are text based.
_________________
Principal Software Architect
Rambling Indie Games, LLC

See my professional portfolio
Back to top  
DeveloperX
202192397


Joined: 04 May 2003
Posts: 1626
Location: Decatur, IL, USA

PostPosted: Fri Dec 21, 2007 11:49 pm    Post subject: [quote]

RedSlash wrote:
I use Blender. Blender has a steep learning curve, though.


I swear Blender made me want to throw my computer though the window...

I spent 6 weeks trying to make something useful in it...with no results.

Kudos to anyone who can use it.
_________________
Principal Software Architect
Rambling Indie Games, LLC

See my professional portfolio
Back to top  
Gardon
Scholar


Joined: 05 Feb 2006
Posts: 157

PostPosted: Sat Dec 22, 2007 2:09 pm    Post subject: [quote]

DeveloperX wrote:

You don't want to drag/drop models in a 3d program (unless you write a game environment editor yourself)


How do you know where things like buildings or certain game interactions happen then? This is where I'm getting stuck... trying to figure out how to "place" items in my 3D world while using a heightmap to make the terrain.

-Gardon
Back to top  
DeveloperX
202192397


Joined: 04 May 2003
Posts: 1626
Location: Decatur, IL, USA

PostPosted: Sat Dec 22, 2007 10:15 pm    Post subject: [quote]

There are a few ways to go about this.

One method is to use a model with 0 polygons (just has a single vertice in the mesh) that is never drawn, just the position of the vertice is loaded into the game (easily extracted from whatever data structure your game uses to store model data I'm sure)

You place this special vertice mesh where you want something to be in your game (sort of like a location anchor if you will).
You can then load and position your models that you want at the location of this locator vertice.
Or if its a game event, then you can simply check to see if the player is on that locator (or near it, or whatever) to trigger your events.


Another way would be to create a mock of your game level in either wings3d or anim8or and then export each game object seperately so that they are all positioned correctly when you load them into place in code.
This does not solve the event problem, that would require either using the first method, or a lot of testing to see if your events are placed correctly.

Yet another method is to write a game level editor (doesn't have to be complex) that loads your heightmap same as the game, and loads all your game object models and lets you place them using the mouse anywhere you want, and then saves the position and rotation data for every model to a file for you to use as a game level.

If figuring out how to use the mouse for selecting and transforming the model position and rotations is too much work, then something simple could be worked up using just a few input fields to type in coordinates for the selected object and 3 fields for the X,Y,Z rotation of the selected object; then either have a drop-down to select a different model, or even arrows to scroll through the available models. A 'submit' button would save the changes to memory, and then a 3d display of the level could then be updated to reflect the changes.

In any event, the BEST method is to write your own editor, the work is well worth the effort if your game is using a lot of models (such as an rpg or 3d platform game)

I am thinking about implementing something like the latter for my game soon; cause it is becoming quite tiresome entering the coordinates by hand in the code. Hmm...*opens visual c#* :D
_________________
Principal Software Architect
Rambling Indie Games, LLC

See my professional portfolio
Back to top  
Gardon
Scholar


Joined: 05 Feb 2006
Posts: 157

PostPosted: Sun Dec 23, 2007 2:24 am    Post subject: [quote]

I've been slowly coming to that realization.... developing my own editor. Currently I'm working with 3 programs: one to build terrain, another to build buildings, and a third to build characters. It's a total pain in the ass to have to switch between the three, because each and every time I have to re-scale everything to fit in with the other programs.

Example: Create a building, then import it to Freeworld3d (terrain program) to see how it measures up. It's all out of scale, so I have to fit it to the best of my ability, which is often wrong.

Thanks DeveloperX. I think I'm going to have to make it one way or another. :)
Back to top  
Post new topic Reply to topic Page 1 of 1 All times are GMT
 



Display posts from previous:   
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum