View previous topic - View next topic |
Author |
Message |
DeveloperX 202192397
Joined: 04 May 2003 Posts: 1626 Location: Decatur, IL, USA
|
Posted: Thu Feb 12, 2009 1:59 am Post subject: |
[quote] |
|
Captain Vimes wrote: |
RedSlash wrote: | Also, declaring global variables in a header file is gonna cause you lots of problems. |
This interests me. Why? |
Globals are bad.
You need to specify them as extern in the header;
and then re-declare them once in some source file.
That way there is only one instance being #included in your code. _________________ Principal Software Architect
Rambling Indie Games, LLC
See my professional portfolio
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
DeveloperX 202192397
Joined: 04 May 2003 Posts: 1626 Location: Decatur, IL, USA
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Ninkazu Demon Hunter
Joined: 08 Aug 2002 Posts: 945 Location: Location:
|
Posted: Thu Feb 12, 2009 3:23 pm Post subject: |
[quote] |
|
This isn't directly related to your problems, but have you experienced Dev-C++ crashing when using auto-complete features or that hint boxes don't disappear sometimes?
I've found Dev-C++ to be a big headache. You may want to look into the (still maintained) IDE called code-blocks.
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
DeveloperX 202192397
Joined: 04 May 2003 Posts: 1626 Location: Decatur, IL, USA
|
Posted: Thu Feb 12, 2009 3:29 pm Post subject: |
[quote] |
|
Ninkazu wrote: | This isn't directly related to your problems, but have you experienced Dev-C++ crashing when using auto-complete features or that hint boxes don't disappear sometimes?
I've found Dev-C++ to be a big headache. You may want to look into the (still maintained) IDE called code-blocks. |
Yeah, there is a bug in the auto-complete system.
I usually turn it off.
I personally hate the code::blocks IDE.
Though..it might have changed in the past 3 years since I used it last...
I do my development in gedit, and the terminal in Linux these days now. I love the speed of my development setup. :D _________________ Principal Software Architect
Rambling Indie Games, LLC
See my professional portfolio
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
RedSlash Mage
Joined: 12 May 2005 Posts: 331
|
Posted: Fri Feb 13, 2009 12:46 am Post subject: |
[quote] |
|
I'd say code::blocks > Dev-C++. Also, Visual Studio Express C++ is free to download and is quite good.
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Ninkazu Demon Hunter
Joined: 08 Aug 2002 Posts: 945 Location: Location:
|
Posted: Fri Feb 13, 2009 1:55 am Post subject: |
[quote] |
|
If I could find a nice autocomplete extension for emacs, I'd use that over anything else, but I haven't looked around hard enough I suppose.
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Captain Vimes Grumble Teddy
Joined: 12 May 2006 Posts: 225 Location: The City Streets
|
Posted: Fri Feb 13, 2009 7:28 pm Post subject: |
[quote] |
|
I'll check out code::blocks, but I personally really like Dev-C++.
And thanks, DevX. Did you find out what was wrong? _________________ "Sometimes it is better to light a flamethrower than to curse the darkness."
- Terry Pratchett
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Terry Spectral Form
Joined: 16 Jun 2002 Posts: 798 Location: Dublin, Ireland
|
Posted: Fri Feb 13, 2009 7:46 pm Post subject: |
[quote] |
|
Code::Blocks is pretty cool - I use it for bigger projects because it tends to be a bit more stable, but I find something about Dev-C++ gels better with my coding style (mostly the way you can quickly switch tabs if you have a lot open), so I still use it for smaller projects from time to time. _________________ http://www.distractionware.com
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
DeveloperX 202192397
Joined: 04 May 2003 Posts: 1626 Location: Decatur, IL, USA
|
Posted: Sat Feb 14, 2009 12:46 am Post subject: |
[quote] |
|
Captain Vimes wrote: | I'll check out code::blocks, but I personally really like Dev-C++.
And thanks, DevX. Did you find out what was wrong? |
I did.
You were misusing the engine I wrote for you ;)
Look at the code in what I posted. _________________ Principal Software Architect
Rambling Indie Games, LLC
See my professional portfolio
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Captain Vimes Grumble Teddy
Joined: 12 May 2006 Posts: 225 Location: The City Streets
|
Posted: Sat Feb 14, 2009 2:27 am Post subject: |
[quote] |
|
I looked at the code, but I don't see any real differences aside from the timer code and the fact that you got rid of the separate UpdateSprites() and UpdateBackgrounds() functions. I mean, I don't mind, but I would like to know exactly what the problem was so that I can avoid it in future. _________________ "Sometimes it is better to light a flamethrower than to curse the darkness."
- Terry Pratchett
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Captain Vimes Grumble Teddy
Joined: 12 May 2006 Posts: 225 Location: The City Streets
|
Posted: Sat Feb 14, 2009 3:16 am Post subject: |
[quote] |
|
And one more question, this one not an error.
I want to randomly create a map every time the player starts the game, which I think I can do. What's more difficult is the fact that I want the city to be bigger than 800x600 pixels. I'm not really sure how I would make the camera move with the player, or how to make SDL render only part of a sprite if it's partially offscreen. Are there any tutorials that you guys know on this subject? _________________ "Sometimes it is better to light a flamethrower than to curse the darkness."
- Terry Pratchett
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
DeveloperX 202192397
Joined: 04 May 2003 Posts: 1626 Location: Decatur, IL, USA
|
Posted: Sat Feb 14, 2009 4:43 am Post subject: |
[quote] |
|
There was not really a need for separate functions.
Because the existing Update method already works for the purpose.
Code: |
void Hammer::Update(float deltaTime, bool updateBackgrounds)
{
spriteManager_->Update(deltaTime);
if (updateBackgrounds)
{
backgroundManager_->Update(deltaTime);
}
}
|
_________________ Principal Software Architect
Rambling Indie Games, LLC
See my professional portfolio
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
DeveloperX 202192397
Joined: 04 May 2003 Posts: 1626 Location: Decatur, IL, USA
|
Posted: Sat Feb 14, 2009 4:45 am Post subject: |
[quote] |
|
Captain Vimes wrote: | And one more question, this one not an error.
I want to randomly create a map every time the player starts the game, which I think I can do. What's more difficult is the fact that I want the city to be bigger than 800x600 pixels. I'm not really sure how I would make the camera move with the player, or how to make SDL render only part of a sprite if it's partially offscreen. Are there any tutorials that you guys know on this subject? |
Are you looking for a tile engine, or a big-bitmap engine, or a sparse space engine, etc.
Camera control isn't all that difficult.
As for tutorials, that all depends on what you are trying to do.
I can whip up examples for you if you know what sort of example you would want.
..haha..I just finished implementing MY camera controls in my minirpg engine for the 48 hour jam :D _________________ Principal Software Architect
Rambling Indie Games, LLC
See my professional portfolio
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
DeveloperX 202192397
Joined: 04 May 2003 Posts: 1626 Location: Decatur, IL, USA
|
Posted: Sat Feb 14, 2009 10:02 pm Post subject: |
[quote] |
|
Okay, my previous experience with Code::Blocks (about 5 years ago) sucked ass.
I decided to give it a try today...and I love it now.
I gotta say that I highly recommend it over Dev-C++.
Its much much better, and it runs in Linux :D
I just finished moving my 48-hour minirpg project to Code::Blocks, and I'm happy with the new development workflow.
The editor its simply great.
I still don't bother with the IDE's build tools or settings.
I setup an external tool in the Tools menu for running SConS (what I've been using all along for building projects) and so nothing needs to change, all my code still builds, I just now have a nice project environment that I can quickly edit my sources in.
The symbol browser is really nice, and autocompletion works great. _________________ Principal Software Architect
Rambling Indie Games, LLC
See my professional portfolio
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Captain Vimes Grumble Teddy
Joined: 12 May 2006 Posts: 225 Location: The City Streets
|
Posted: Tue Feb 17, 2009 12:54 am Post subject: |
[quote] |
|
Okay, so, I got Code::Blocks. I'm going to try it out now, but first...
DeveloperX wrote: |
PostPosted: Sat Feb 14, 2009 4:43 am Post subject:
There was not really a need for separate functions.
Because the existing Update method already works for the purpose. |
I still don't see why this would make the error "class Hammer has no member named 'Update'" appear. I mean, the Update() function was still there. It just called two other functions instead of doing it all in there. Or am I missing something really obvious?
DeveloperX wrote: |
Are you looking for a tile engine, or a big-bitmap engine, or a sparse space engine, etc.
Camera control isn't all that difficult.
As for tutorials, that all depends on what you are trying to do.
I can whip up examples for you if you know what sort of example you would want.
..haha..I just finished implementing MY camera controls in my minirpg engine for the 48 hour jam :D |
I'm not really sure what the difference between all the different types is. I think I know what a tile engine is (like Pokemon, right?) and I can guess what a big-bitmap is (just one giant bitmap that you render piece by piece), but I'm not sure what a sparse-space is.
But unless the sparse-space is something really, really cool, I think I'm looking for a big-bitmap engine here. _________________ "Sometimes it is better to light a flamethrower than to curse the darkness."
- Terry Pratchett
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|