View previous topic - View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Y treefingers Y I wanna be a ballerina!
Joined: 21 Apr 2003 Posts: 29
|
Posted: Wed Jun 11, 2003 3:21 pm Post subject: Dev-C++ |
[quote] |
|
how do you have a bin to include .h files (such as apstring.h, or apmatrix.h) because i need to know how...i just got it yesterday.
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
ThousandKnives Wandering Minstrel
Joined: 17 May 2003 Posts: 147 Location: Boston
|
Posted: Wed Jun 11, 2003 5:00 pm Post subject: |
[quote] |
|
Well, I've been using Dev-C++ for the past 6 months and, uh... I have to admit I have NO idea what your question is actually about.
Do you mean, "how do I specify an include folder other than the default one?" Cause that would be under:
Tools:Compiler Options:Directories:C includes
Just click "add" or something. It's not rocket science.
Or did you mean something else entirely?
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Bjorn Demon Hunter
Joined: 29 May 2002 Posts: 1425 Location: Germany
|
Posted: Wed Jun 11, 2003 7:38 pm Post subject: |
[quote] |
|
Maybe he means the include directive, like for library includes:
#include <apstring.h>
Or for your own include files, place them next to your c/cpp files and use:
#include "apstring.h"
Just a wild guess though.
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Y treefingers Y@lazytolog Guest
|
Posted: Thu Jun 12, 2003 2:11 am Post subject: |
[quote] |
|
well, in Metrowerks (another compiler i used to use at school), you would have a Bin, and if you have something like "apstring.h", then you would have to copy the .h file into the bin. But on this, i understand it now...thousandknives explained it...i just have to go to compiler options, then make a directory to where all the includes are. Thanks
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
DrV Wandering Minstrel
Joined: 15 Apr 2003 Posts: 148 Location: Midwest US
|
Posted: Thu Jun 12, 2003 4:36 am Post subject: |
[quote] |
|
Standard place for includes is in dev-c++\include... I think... dunno. _________________ Don't ask no stupid questions and I won't send you away.
If you want to talk fishing, well, I guess that'll be okay.
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
ThousandKnives Wandering Minstrel
Joined: 17 May 2003 Posts: 147 Location: Boston
|
Posted: Thu Jun 12, 2003 4:56 am Post subject: |
[quote] |
|
Yup! All in a days work for the mighty TK!!
...even if I didn't have a clue if I was on talking about the right thing or not.
I sorta remember having an issue like that at first, I had to um, specify some additional directory for C++ includes like "include/c++/mingw32" to get it to compile properly, I guess I use some headers that gcc doesnt have or something. I don't really remember anymore. Heh Then there was the business of getting the properly compiled Direct X libraries. Ugh. I should've really stopped being a cheap-ass many many years ago and bought Visual but, I guess I'm just cheap to the end.
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
DrunkenCoder Demon Hunter
Joined: 29 May 2002 Posts: 559
|
Posted: Thu Jun 12, 2003 8:07 am Post subject: |
[quote] |
|
Actually I thinkg Dev-C++ is in many aspects better than Visual esp. .NET is really really annoying, they turned a fast nice IDE into a unintuative sloth. _________________ If there's life after death there is no death, if there's no death we never live. | ENTP
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Y treefingers Y I wanna be a ballerina!
Joined: 21 Apr 2003 Posts: 29
|
Posted: Thu Jun 12, 2003 4:06 pm Post subject: |
[quote] |
|
1 more question...what do i use to make resource script (.rc) files? (im learning how to make windows w/menus)
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
ThousandKnives Wandering Minstrel
Joined: 17 May 2003 Posts: 147 Location: Boston
|
Posted: Thu Jun 12, 2003 7:29 pm Post subject: |
[quote] |
|
Quote: | Actually I thinkg Dev-C++ is in many aspects better than Visual |
I might agree if I actually had more experience using Visual, but the fact is that there isnt a single other compiler out there that really WORKS with the Direct X libraries. Although Bloodshed is WAY better than Borland, which I used to use, and had to actually compile the Direct Input libraries as part of the executable to get it to work at all. Oh yeah... can you say compatablity issues? Now none of the stuff I did with Borland will run under XP, 2K, etc. And because Borland was far less compliant than the gcc that Bloodshed uses, I have to re-write a good deal of code to get my old Borland code to compile. Yay.
Quote: | 1 more question...what do i use to make resource script (.rc) files? (im learning how to make windows w/menus) |
Sorry, I did a little work with that many many years ago but don't remember much of any of it. Someone else?
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Sirocco Mage
Joined: 01 Jun 2002 Posts: 345
|
Posted: Fri Jun 13, 2003 3:06 am Post subject: bleh. |
[quote] |
|
I don't mind Dev-C++ so much, but it lacks a lot of functionality that has been in RHIDE for years... I find myself groping alt-f2 in a vain effort to bring up a list of routines/functions inside the current source file, forgetting which IDE I'm using :(
I generally dev my sources in RHIDE, then fire up Dev-C++ when it's actually time to compile a win32 binary.
.
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
DrV Wandering Minstrel
Joined: 15 Apr 2003 Posts: 148 Location: Midwest US
|
Posted: Fri Jun 13, 2003 4:38 am Post subject: |
[quote] |
|
Y treefingers Y wrote: | 1 more question...what do i use to make resource script (.rc) files? (im learning how to make windows w/menus) |
Dev-C++ has a resource editor which (I think) allows you to make menu resources. Or you could use Visual Studio's resource editor, but I'm not sure if they're the same format... _________________ Don't ask no stupid questions and I won't send you away.
If you want to talk fishing, well, I guess that'll be okay.
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Bjorn Demon Hunter
Joined: 29 May 2002 Posts: 1425 Location: Germany
|
Posted: Fri Jun 13, 2003 8:23 pm Post subject: |
[quote] |
|
The talk about Dev-C++ here made me download the newest version and try it out. The previous time I tried it out must have been two years ago at least. Indeed, this program is becoming more and more complete and solid. I've setup Cave Adventure to compile with it and link with it's libraries (allegro, alogg and lua) and it's working fine. I haven't encountered any serious bugs in Dev-C++ yet, though some small ones.
Sirocco, while surely Dev-C++ doesn't have an Alt+F2 shortcut to give a list of functions in the current source file, it does have the same (and I think more advanced) functionality in it's "Classes" tab. I've never used RHIDE for any of my projects though.
Edit: After a short investigation, I found out Dev-C++ has a nice "Goto function..." feature that can be invoked with Ctrl+Shift+G, and you can even set it to Alt+F2 in the shurtcut settings if you want.
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
DrV Wandering Minstrel
Joined: 15 Apr 2003 Posts: 148 Location: Midwest US
|
Posted: Sat Jun 14, 2003 1:14 am Post subject: |
[quote] |
|
Does that Goto Function work if you don't have the file in question added to your project? (I've gotta get a more recent version. :) _________________ Don't ask no stupid questions and I won't send you away.
If you want to talk fishing, well, I guess that'll be okay.
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Bjorn Demon Hunter
Joined: 29 May 2002 Posts: 1425 Location: Germany
|
Posted: Sat Jun 14, 2003 9:15 am Post subject: |
[quote] |
|
The "Goto function..." facility is for jumping to a function in the currently opened file. The "Classes" tab can show all global functions/variables and classes in your project. I don't know about jumping to functions outside your project...
Edit: Ok, I think I know what you mean now. It seems that you cannot use the feature if you're just editing some source file, it needs to be part of the project. I hope the developers intend to do something about this.
Edit 2: Right, now I found out that the "Goto function..." list is working for arbitrarily opened files too, only not when a project is opened and they're not in it.
Last edited by Bjorn on Sun Jun 15, 2003 1:28 am; edited 1 time in total
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
DrV Wandering Minstrel
Joined: 15 Apr 2003 Posts: 148 Location: Midwest US
|
Posted: Sat Jun 14, 2003 9:32 pm Post subject: |
[quote] |
|
I loooove Visual Studio's Ctrl-F2 shortcut, Intellisense, etc. Makes life easier for lazy coders like me. :) _________________ Don't ask no stupid questions and I won't send you away.
If you want to talk fishing, well, I guess that'll be okay.
|
|
Back to top |
|
|