View previous topic - View next topic |
Author |
Message |
js71 Wandering DJ
Joined: 22 Nov 2002 Posts: 815
|
Posted: Mon Jun 16, 2003 6:08 pm Post subject: |
[quote] |
|
... ...
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Tenshi Everyone's Peachy Lil' Bitch
Joined: 31 May 2002 Posts: 386 Location: Newport News
|
Posted: Sat Jun 21, 2003 1:27 am Post subject: |
[quote] |
|
- Hmmmm... I think I am going to use Allegro... I don't need to nor want to do anything 3D with Unmei Densetsu... that's what Federation Crystal: Online will be about. I just want to load an image and draw it to a buffer, then draw the buffer to the screen. >.<
[edit]
- Egh, we'll see. _________________ - Jaeda
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
valderman Mage
Joined: 29 Aug 2002 Posts: 334 Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
|
Posted: Sat Jun 21, 2003 9:33 pm Post subject: |
[quote] |
|
Quote: | - Hmmmm... I think I am going to use Allegro... I don't need to nor want to do anything 3D with Unmei Densetsu... |
Why use Allegro instead of OpenGL? I don't know about much Allegro, but I can certainly imagine Allegro blits being slower than doing textured quads/triangle strips with OpenGL.
Also, programming 2D graphics with OpenGL is a good way to get comfortable with it for future 3D projects. To me, it would seem like a good opportunity to get a good grip of the texturing part of OpenGL, as you would learn a lot, and could also create some cool effects using, for example, multitexturing. _________________ http://www.weeaboo.se
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Tenshi Everyone's Peachy Lil' Bitch
Joined: 31 May 2002 Posts: 386 Location: Newport News
|
Posted: Sat Jun 21, 2003 10:14 pm Post subject: |
[quote] |
|
- I dunno. I'm getting incredibly frustrated with this. It's supposed to be a port, not some supreme expansion on it. I want it done and I want it out of the way. But in the past 3 days I haven't been able to put a single piece of text or image to screen. And what's all this about having to have my files powers of two?! That's an incredible waste of space, very few of my sprites are powers of two. They are multiples of four. I'm still trying to find some help on the issue, but the past few days of Google searches on "OpenGL 2D", and sprites, and such, have not yielded any results that would help me. _________________ - Jaeda
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Mandrake elementry school minded asshole
Joined: 28 May 2002 Posts: 1341 Location: GNARR!
|
Posted: Sat Jun 21, 2003 10:41 pm Post subject: |
[quote] |
|
gamedev.net has an excellent article on using OpenGL for 2d...but it always seems like an overkill to me. I mean why use 3d rendering, to render an essentially 2d scene, onto a 2d projection? I mean, that would be like building a river to build a bridge.
And, since Allegro wraps around DirectX, it's 2d is more than hella fast enough. I'm pretty sure the diffrences between 2d blitting and 3d - 2d rendering/transformations are minimal to the naked eye. _________________ "Well, last time I flicked on a lighter, I'm pretty sure I didn't create a black hole."-
Xmark
http://pauljessup.com
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
DrunkenCoder Demon Hunter
Joined: 29 May 2002 Posts: 559
|
Posted: Sat Jun 21, 2003 10:55 pm Post subject: |
[quote] |
|
well, it's basicly the diffrenece between 900 and 1500 FPS on a decent computer and also the diffrence between solid 60 and barly 20 on a
non accelerated one..
Really Allegro is a nice little thing and mandrake is 100% right
use the right tool for the job, in this case it really seems like allegro _________________ If there's life after death there is no death, if there's no death we never live. | ENTP
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Rainer Deyke Demon Hunter
Joined: 05 Jun 2002 Posts: 672
|
Posted: Sun Jun 22, 2003 1:38 am Post subject: |
[quote] |
|
Mandrake wrote: | gamedev.net has an excellent article on using OpenGL for 2d...but it always seems like an overkill to me. I mean why use 3d rendering, to render an essentially 2d scene, onto a 2d projection? I mean, that would be like building a river to build a bridge. |
OpenGL gets you subpixel scrolling, free rotation/scaling/flipping, free alpha, and all kinds of nifty effects. If it's supported. My current (old, crappy) graphics card doesn't do OpenGL.
Quote: | And, since Allegro wraps around DirectX, it's 2d is more than hella fast enough. I'm pretty sure the diffrences between 2d blitting and 3d - 2d rendering/transformations are minimal to the naked eye. |
DirectDraw or Direct3D? The former does not accelerate blits with alpha.
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Mandrake elementry school minded asshole
Joined: 28 May 2002 Posts: 1341 Location: GNARR!
|
Posted: Sun Jun 22, 2003 2:44 am Post subject: |
[quote] |
|
right, but what is the speed diffrenece to someone watching? eh? Esp if the programmer used MMX accelaration (and unless your comp is like, older than dirt, it probably has it).....the diffrence in speed is probably minimal. Throw in the fact your now requiring a 2d game to have the support of a 3d card- and it just doesn't seem right. _________________ "Well, last time I flicked on a lighter, I'm pretty sure I didn't create a black hole."-
Xmark
http://pauljessup.com
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
DrunkenCoder Demon Hunter
Joined: 29 May 2002 Posts: 559
|
Posted: Sun Jun 22, 2003 8:29 am Post subject: |
[quote] |
|
Oh, on the topic of MMX acceleration =) Im pondering the idea to write
a quite fully MMX enhanced 2d engine but having some problems actually finding good refrence material, any ideas? Intel have some stuff but it's all quite a mess to find. _________________ If there's life after death there is no death, if there's no death we never live. | ENTP
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
valderman Mage
Joined: 29 Aug 2002 Posts: 334 Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
|
Posted: Sun Jun 22, 2003 12:02 pm Post subject: |
[quote] |
|
Tenshi wrote: | - I dunno. I'm getting incredibly frustrated with this. It's supposed to be a port, not some supreme expansion on it. I want it done and I want it out of the way. But in the past 3 days I haven't been able to put a single piece of text or image to screen. And what's all this about having to have my files powers of two?! That's an incredible waste of space, very few of my sprites are powers of two. They are multiples of four. I'm still trying to find some help on the issue, but the past few days of Google searches on "OpenGL 2D", and sprites, and such, have not yielded any results that would help me. | Your images doesn't need to be powers of two if you use mipmaps (gluBuild2DMipmaps), and they don't even need to be square if you use the pixel drawing functions (which would totally defeat the purpose of using OpenGL). Text might require some work, though.
Come to think of it, there is one pretty big con to it also (aside from the ones already mentioned): How many sprites you can draw is limited by the video card's fillrate. This normally wouldn't be a problem, unless you want to draw an insane amount of sprites. I got a noticable slowdown (running at ~40 fps) on a GeForce 4 Ti4200 when drawing something like 10 000 64x64 sprites per frame.
Conclusion: I don't think speed would really be an issue for a 2D game, since pretty much any card since 5 years can do textured quads at a decent speed. _________________ http://www.weeaboo.se
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Ninkazu Demon Hunter
Joined: 08 Aug 2002 Posts: 945 Location: Location:
|
Posted: Sun Jun 22, 2003 2:51 pm Post subject: |
[quote] |
|
You can use a bitmapping font engine like I used for my math project. I got the original algorithm from the 3D breakout game at NeHe.
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Tenshi Everyone's Peachy Lil' Bitch
Joined: 31 May 2002 Posts: 386 Location: Newport News
|
Posted: Sun Jun 22, 2003 7:55 pm Post subject: |
[quote] |
|
- O.o .... I don't need to draw 10000 Textured quads per second... I don't think.... I'm getting some help on this issue, and it'd be great if I can get some here also. I'm still trying to load a texture, but Syd has helped me to get my orthogonal display correct so that it functions as a 640x480 plain.
- I downloaded some PNGLib, I guess I should learn how to use it? =D _________________ - Jaeda
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Ninkazu Demon Hunter
Joined: 08 Aug 2002 Posts: 945 Location: Location:
|
Posted: Sun Jun 22, 2003 8:20 pm Post subject: |
[quote] |
|
the best way to learn is by looking at someone else's code. I'm sure some people used pnglib in those contests they have at nehe...
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
valderman Mage
Joined: 29 Aug 2002 Posts: 334 Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
|
Posted: Sun Jun 22, 2003 9:23 pm Post subject: |
[quote] |
|
I've always been using uncompressed TGAs (or BMPs) for testing, since I'm too lazy to look into compressed image formats. I guess I'll have to whenever I'm releasing a full game. _________________ http://www.weeaboo.se
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Ninkazu Demon Hunter
Joined: 08 Aug 2002 Posts: 945 Location: Location:
|
Posted: Sun Jun 22, 2003 9:55 pm Post subject: |
[quote] |
|
Bah, we have games on DVDs now, waste that space, boy! :P
|
|
Back to top |
|
|